Spectacular Result


frs1016@centurylink.net

“She has me so intimidated I can’t think straight,” Cy the Cynic told me.

“You’re intimidated by a sweet old lady?” I asked.

“It’s those glasses,” Cy growled

Minnie Bottoms wears old bifocals that make her mix up kings and jacks, often to her opponents’ dismay.

“Look at this deal,” Cy said. “I played at 4, and Minnie, West, led a club.”

“She hates to lead from kings,” I observed.

“True,” Cy shrugged, “but she can’t tell a king from a jack, so who knows which honor she led from? I played dummy’s queen: king, ace.”

Dlr: South ♠ A K J 6 4
Vul: N-S 8 5 2
J 9 4
♣ Q 10
♠ 9 8 3 ♠ Q 10 7 5
K J 9 6
K 6 5 2 A 8 7
♣ J 9 7 5 2 ♣ K  6 4
♠ 2
A Q 10 7 4 3
Q 10 3
♣ A 8 3
South West North East
1 Pass 1♠ Pass
2 Pass 3 Pass
4 All Pass

Opening lead — ♣5

Discard

“Next I led the ace of trumps,” the Cynic went on, “and Minnie played the king. Against you, I would have taken the ♠A K for a club discard and led a trump to my 10 for 10 easy tricks.”

“But Minnie might have played the king from K-J,” I noted.

“I ‘misguessed’ and took the queen next,” Cy said grimly. “When she discarded, I tried a spade to dummy’s jack. I went down three.”

Poor Cy. Minnie has his number.

Daily Question

You hold:
♠ 2
A Q 10 7 4 3
Q 10 3
♣ A 8 3
Your partner opens 1, you respond 1 and he bids 2♣. What do you say?

ANSWER
Assume that you judge to insist on game. A bid of 3 would only invite, and partner may have no heart tolerance anyway: He bid both minors and has a few spades since the opponents haven’t bid them. Bid 3 if that bid is forcing. If not, try a “fourth-suit” bid of 2♠.
Please follow and like us: