Perceiving the Truth


frs1016@centurylink.net

“It seems to me that spelling ‘rules’ are often broken,” I remarked to my friend the English professor. “What about ‘i before e except after c’?”

“That rule has been disproved by science,” the prof growled.

Dlr: South ♠ K 4 2
Vul: N-S Q 5
K 5 4
♣ K 10 9 7 3
♠ J 10 9 7 3 ♠ 8 5
10 9 7 3 J 8 4
10 7 A Q 9 3 2
♣ A 5 ♣ Q 6 2
♠ A Q 6
A K 6 2
J 8 6
♣ J 8 4
South West North East
1NT Pass 3NT All Pass

Opening lead — ♠J

Some bridge rules are no more reliable. At today’s 3NT, South won the first spade with the queen and let the ♣8 ride. When East took the queen, he swiftly led another spade, but declarer won and forced out the ♣A. West shifted to the 10, but after East took the queen and ace, South claimed, scoring game.

“I would need to be prescient to find the winning defense,” East shrugged.

Points

A conscientious East would reason that the deck didn’t have enough points for West to hold A-J-10-x-x in spades plus an entry. Moreover, if South had the ♣A, he would have cashed it before finessing.

At trick three, East must lead a low diamond. When West takes the ♣A, he leads his last diamond, and East runs the diamonds.

Daily Question

You hold:
♠ K 4 2
Q 5
K 5 4
♣ K 10 9 7 3
Your partner opens 1, you respond 2♣, he bids 2 and you try 2NT. Partner then rebids 3. What do you say?

ANSWER
Partner suggests five cards in each red suit and minimum values. If he had
♠A 3  K J 10 7 6  A Q 9 7 6  ♣J, he would have raised your 2NT to 3NT. Pass. No game should succeed. At matchpoint duplicate, you might risk a return to three hearts to play at the higher-scoring partial.
Please follow and like us: