Race Leaders

Bobby Levin

The Player of the Year race is down to two: While Bobby Levin leads going into the final day of the Fall NABC, Eric Greco is in a position to pass him. The Player of the Year award goes to the player who wins the most platinum points, available only in NABC events.

Eric Greco

Levin’s advantage over Greco is currently about 70 platinum points. Levin’s team, captained by Nick Nickell, was knocked out of the Reisinger on Saturday; Greco’s team, led by Martin Fleisher, qualified to play on the final day. If the Fleisher team finishes at least fourth, Greco will pick up the platinum points he needs to claim Player of the Year honors.

Joe Grue

Joe Grue is having a very good tournament! Wins in the Mitchell Open BAM and the Kaplan Blue Ribbon Pairs netted him 330 masterpoints and make him a favorite to win the Goren Trophy for the second year in a row. The Goren Trophy is given to the player who wins the most masterpoints at the Fall NABC. Trailing by 60 after Saturday’s play is Grue’s Reisinger captain, Martin Fleisher.

Grue led the campaign for the 2018 Barry Crane Top 500 crown as of Nov. 6 with almost 2875 masterpoints. Mark Itabashi, with 2800 points, was 75 points back.

Grue’s goal is to break the annual masterpoint contest record set by Jim Barrow in 1999 with 3584 points.