Soloway winners

Bas Drijver, Michal Nowosadzki, Jacek Pszczola, Jacek Kalita, Sjoert Brink. Josef Blass (not pictured) is non-playing captain.

After trailing their opponents for the first three quarters of the match, Josef Blass npc defeated Nick Nickell’s squad in the final of the Soloway Knockout Teams, 123-102.

Blass, down 20 IMPs after the first three sets, unleashed a 51-10 run in the final quarter to defeat Nickell by 21 IMPs in the inaugural running of the contest.

Playing for Blass was Jacek Pszczola, Jacek Kalita, Michal Nowosadzki, Sjoert Brink and Sebastiaan Drijver.

Nickell’s lineup was Ralph Katz, Jeff Meckstroth, Eric Rodwell, Robert Levin and Steve Weinstein.

The Blass team is on a hot streak, claiming their second major victory this year: They won the Spingold KO Teams at the Summer NABC in Las Vegas. The team members each have multiple NABC and world titles.

Robert Levin, captain Nick Nickell, Steve Weinstein, Jeff Meckstroth, coach Eric Kokish, Ralph Katz and Eric Rodwell

Nickell took a 20-IMP lead in the first quarter, pared to 14 IMPs at halftime. At the end of three quarters, their lead had returned to the 20-IMP margin, before Blass caught fire in the final stanza.

The eponymous Soloway had been a member of the Nickell team prior to his death in 2007.